Catalina 22 Leak

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sep 30, 2009
Catalina 250 CSA at Carlyle Lake
Hi, I'm fairly new to sailing and I'm looking for a Catalina 22 to purchase. A friend of a friend of a friend has a 1976 model for sale but mentioned that it has a minor leak only while sailing. After a full day of sailing, he has to pump out a few inches of water from the bilge. It doesn't leak at all when just sitting at the dock. Does this sound like a major problem and would anyone know why this might be happening? Also, I would appreciate it if anyone out there could let me know what else I should be aware of on a boat this old.
Thanks!
Greg

Nov 19, 2008
Catalina C-22 MK-II Parrish, FL
The water could be coming from the keel bolt that helps hold the keel from clunking. So check where it's having to be pumped out at. It's in the forward dinette storage area. Mine leaked while sailing and it was the calking under the rub-rail. It was a big job picking out all the old calking and installing new.

By the way, I was up on the Alton Pool with our old C-22 in 1992 and 1993. She rode out the flood in 93 at Portage Des Souix.

Don

Sep 30, 2009
Thanks for the tip Don. I'll see if the seller is able to elaborate on where the leak is coming from. What a coincidence - Portage Des Souix is where the boat I'm interested in is sailed.

Greg

OldCat

Jul 26, 2005
Catalina , Nacra 5.8, Laser, Hobie Hawk Wonmop, CO
Hi, I'm fairly new to sailing and I'm looking for a Catalina 22 to purchase. A friend of a friend of a friend has a 1976 model for sale but mentioned that it has a minor leak only while sailing. After a full day of sailing, he has to pump out a few inches of water from the bilge. It doesn't leak at all when just sitting at the dock. Does this sound like a major problem and would anyone know why this might be happening? Also, I would appreciate it if anyone out there could let me know what else I should be aware of on a boat this old.
Thanks!
Greg