• Mobile App For Android Now Online!

Download it here. The app is searchable in the Google Play Store under Sailboat Owners.

Sorry iPhone/iPad users, we are still waiting on Apple. :(

Click the X in the upper right corner to make this go away

Cat18 the right boat for me?

Sep 6, 2019
Catalina 18 Mass
Hi - newbie here. I am possibly looking to buy a C18. I am wondering if its the right boat for me. I have done all the on-line reading. Here's some desired characteristics and related thoughts:

Small, trailberable, stable, ease of operation.
I am 62, slightly overweight with 50 years of sailing experience and ownership (but not an expert).
Day sailing only, in saltwater harbor close coast
Wind prevailing 10-15kts with occasional chop.
The boat will be moored, so self-bailing is desired
Mainly single-handling, but up to 3-4 people on rare occasion
Not interested in speed/performance.
Money is tight

Pls comment - I appreciate all input. Thx

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 Westport, MA
I think for a daysailer, especially considering 3 to 4 people on occasion, I'd go for something with a larger cockpit. The C18 seems more a pocket cruiser than a daysailer.

Jan 1, 2006
Marblehead Skiff 14' Greenport, NY
I agree that if you are on a mooring self bailing is a must have. I just looked at it on sailboatdata.com. It seems like a nice boat for you stated use. And thanks for being specific about that. I like the fractional rig, and the wing keel for stability and trailering. Small cuddy for stowage - if on a mooring you'll be hauling enough gear back and forth. I'm sure there are other boats that would suit your criteria but this design looks good.

Sep 6, 2019
Catalina 18 Mass
I think for a daysailer, especially considering 3 to 4 people on occasion, I'd go for something with a larger cockpit. The C18 seems more a pocket cruiser than a daysailer.
Thanks jviss - the 3-4 people would be the outlier for sure, and in that case, it would be a short harbor cruise in mild weather.