Cat 250 WB Concerns

Feb 20, 2016
Catalina 22 Palm Harbor
Okay...........I'm new to this page and was already advised that my interest or questions about this boat are to be directed to the experts.
I am retired and plan on sailing off in the sunset from the backyard. You'd think that was convenient, but we have shallow tide passage to the West Coast Gulf here in Florida. I am a past Cat 25 Swing Keel owner years ago. I don't care for any other boat than the 22, 25 or 250.

The 250 is a beautiful boat. The WB option will accomplish all our goals out to sea, beaching at sand bars for haul maintenance, etc., but I don't know much about WB boats. We will be mooring our boat, thus the WB can not be emptied while we are not planning on trailing the boat.

Questions:
While moored:
Can I install an electric bilge in the ballast to empty when we are not sailing?
What concerns should I have leaving the water in the ballast, permanently?
Will this boat perform as it's less attractive cousin , the CAT 25 Swing Keel? ( Catt 22 is too small )
I can get to sea via these low tides of ours with a Cat 25, but the Cat 250 WB is just to comfortably attractive.
Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
and was already advised that my interest or questions about this boat are to be directed to the experts.
Hi, again, John.
I think by "experts", I suggested to you that you talk directly to the skippers who own those boats and ask them. I gave you the link to the Catalina 25 & 250 forum.
There are definitely (by simple logic because of the nature of these two different forums) more Catalina owners of that size boat there than here. Although touching both bases wouldn't hurt.
Have you?

Jim26m

Apr 3, 2019
Macgregor 26M Mobile AL
John,