Captain in a box online system

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 2, 2008
Beneteau 331 Chicago (DuSable)
I have sailed for many years and am really thinking about getting my captains license for many reasons, including for eventual retirement it may offer some part time revenue. I looked into the MLS system online. It looks pretty good and they give the test. I am a very comfortable self-teaching and in fact retain more. I used the professors (engineering) to reinforce what I studied the night before.

Would appreciate any positive or negative feedback if you have tried it yourself of have direct knowledge. It is about $800 but the boast a over 90% passing rate for those taking the exam but no numbers on how many started but never finished. To be fair that is not their fault if someone never tries to test. But just wondering....

Thanks,
Craig

Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 37 C sloop Punta Gorda FL
Used to be able to buy a set of all the questions they could possibly ask. Was on paper Ina notebook. Now probably DVD. Was $25. First you need lots of documented boating experience. Then you need to know the col regs really well. You are not going to learn much in 20 or 30 hours, so you need to go in already familiar with the regs, Light patterns etc. take this with a grain of salt. My knowledge comes from 1982 when I got my six pack.

capta

Jun 4, 2009
Pearson 530 Admiralty Bay, Bequia SVG
Used to be able to buy a set of all the questions they could possibly ask. Was on paper Ina notebook. Now probably DVD. Was $25. First you need lots of documented boating experience. Then you need to know the col regs really well. You are not going to learn much in 20 or 30 hours, so you need to go in already familiar with the regs, Light l.patterns etc. take this with a grain of salt. My knowledge comes from 1982 when I got my six pack.