Buying a Bristol 38

Dec 19, 2015
Bristol 38' St Augustine
Hi Guys, I'm new to the forum and in the process of buying a Bristol 38 for winter sailing in the Bahamas and the Caribbean.
I have no experience in Bristol 38's and any advice and info would be most welcome.

Aug 2, 2005
Pearson 33-2 & Typhoon 18 Seneca Lake
Welcome SailingPilot, Best Wishes as you enjoy your new boat! I have sailed boats that appear to be related to the Bristol you are buying. In sailboatdata.com there is information on your boat, and it appears to be built and/or designed by people who were responsible for the Wauquiez and the larger Pearson models.

I sailed on a friend's Wauquiez 40 in the upper Chesapeake Bay. That boat sailed wonderfully, but was very deep draft for the area where it was kept. The couple took the boat down the ICW to Ft Lauderdale one winter and lived on it for over a year. It had lots of sail adjustment and was a beamy boat that was comfortable to be aboard.

Another friend still owns a Pearson 38 in the same sailing area. Wonderful boat and even more comfortable than the Wauquiez. The Pearson is also a deep draft (about 6 feet) fin keel boat. It has a 3 cylinder Yanmar diesel that is very good for maneuvering that boat. Aft cabin, aft head, great main saloon with chart table and a very usable galley.

We have always admired Bristol Yachts from a distance and I am sure that your boat comes with a fine pedigree. The sailboatdata site shows a keel/CB underbody that will get you into shallower water. There are some people who would warn against the CB model for crossing large expanses of ocean, and there will probably be some noise at anchor as the board moves back and forth. (Actually, from side to side!)

Again, Best Wishes!

Dec 19, 2015
Bristol 38' St Augustine