Busted!

Nov 22, 2008
Endeavour 32 Portland, Maine
I put this picture of one of Strider's chainplates in a Facebook album so I could link to it for my previous post. It wasn't supposed to show up on Facebook but, due to some FB weirdness, went out to several friends newsfeeds.

One of the friends is a retired Transport Canada inspector, now a boat surveyor and consultant so I have to take seriously the comments he posted about the photo.

Dissimilar metals, poor quality stainless steel, to short cotter pin and wrong screws attaching the chainplate cover.... Bet the deck core is pretty rotten underneath..

On scores of boats I've surveyed I've found water ingress into the core through the cover screws. Agreed on the dissimilar metals, I'd want to look closer.... But then as a surveyor I'd want this whole lot taken apart for closer inspection because I suspect there is insipit corrosion cracking lurking.....
Maybe Ken will join us here for further discussion but here is my response:

No dissimilar metals. Everything in the picture is stainless but all the stainless on Strider is stained after after 3500 nm of sailing last year. The turnbuckles are Sta Lok which is a pretty good brand, but even their upper ends are stained. Something about the lighting makes the staining look worse than it is but I've got to clean the stainless soon.

The clevis pin is not the one that came with the turnbuckles. The yard that replaced my standing rigging lost the original pin and replaced it with one on hand. It's an experienced yard so, other than the lack of as nice a champher on the end of the pin, I wasn't too concerned. Looking at the difference in the amount of staining between the two sides now however, I think I'll swap that pin out when I can.