Busbar Ampacity Confusion

Nov 6, 2020
Mariner 36 California
So, i want to link two busbars. In the process i started looking at the BEP Marinco link bars.
I found data on another supplier that says each bar can handle 650 amps of current. I then started thinking about my busbars. I normally order them from suppliers according to the amperage description they sell them at and just order them according to what i need.

Now that i need to link a couple i started to get into the details a little bit more and discovered busbar calculators. I started playing around with them and punching in numbers that match busbars that i already own. For example, i have a BlueSeas 250 amp busbar, but if you enter the size of the bar into one of the calculators, the ampacity capability according to the calculators is quite a bit lower (193 Amps) than what BlueSeas specifies what they can carry. Likewise, i entered in the size specifications for a similar sized BEP busbar that claims 500 Amp carrying capacity and its nowhere near that.

I then discovered the copper development associations website.
which has a table that shows a 1" x 1/4" busbar in a horizontal plane can carry 400 amps. Im assuming this table is more accurate, but i still am just starting to learn about this in detail. My question is why the discrepancy between the table and the calculators?