Bottom Paint

HomeyD

Mar 3, 2023
Catalina 22 Swing Kiel Mystic CT
I am new to having work done at a marina. Up till now I did most of the work myself. I just had the marina wet blast the bottom of my Catalina 22 and apply several coats of barrier and top coat.They sandblasted the kiel as well coated it. My question is this. They tell me they did this without removing the Kiel from the boat. I am skeptical as to how well they could get at some areas. Has anyone had experiance with having similar work done?

Feb 10, 2004
Hunter 40.5 Warwick, RI
I have never heard of anyone removing the keel to refinish it.
Question: By "wet blast" do you mean just pressure wash or do you mean removal of old paint down to gel-coat? If it was just pressure washed with water, applying barrier coat and then anti-fouling is wrong IMHO. However if the old paint was removed to the gel-coat, and then barrier coat and anti-fouling applied, that sounds correct.

HomeyD

Mar 3, 2023
Old paint removed. Thanks for the input, I feel better.

Jun 11, 2004
Oday 31 Redondo Beach
It has been a long time since I had a Catalina 22 but as I recall the keel needed to be worked on in both the lowered and raised positions to get full coverage .

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
@Richard19068 is correct assuming the keel is a swing keel.

Was the swing keel cleaned to the gel coat or was it stripped down to the bare cast iron. If so, how long was it till the barrier coat was applied? Former retired Catalina dealer

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
I just had the marina wet blast the bottom of my Catalina 22 and apply several coats of barrier and top coat.They sandblasted the kiel as well coated it.
Did you observe the process? Do you have a sense of reliability that the marina workers know what they are doing? Does the finished product look like paint coverage is even and smooth?

If the finished job looks acceptable then you are left to assume they did a professional job.