Boom Attachment to Mast

Status
Not open for further replies.

JRoser

Mar 18, 2013
Catalina 30 Niceville
I have a 1980 Catalina 30 and I'm also a novice. I need to raise the boom a few inches to take pressure off the bimini and wonder how that is accomplished. The main sail does not go all the way to the top of the mast, so I have some room.
Thanks

Feb 26, 2008
Catalina 30 Marathon, FL
Check the angle of the boom to the mast first, you may need to adjust your topping lift.

Bob S

Sep 27, 2007
Beneteau 393 New Bedford, MA
Are you having interference when the sail is raised or not deployed? I had the same problem my first season when I left the boat. The boom was just a little low and lightly rubbed the dodger. It wore the material thin in that spot! Loosen you main sheet and raise the boom with the topping lift then tighten down on the main sheet. If it's happening under sail you're not raising the main high enough. Search this forum, RichH posted a great "How To"

http://forums.catalina.sailboatowners.com/showthread.php?t=120970

JRoser

Mar 18, 2013
Catalina 30 Niceville
Thanks for the information. I checked the angle of the boom to mast and it is reading 88 degrees at the tack after adjusting the topping lift, Jimmcgee.

Good article from the link Bob S.

Right now I got to wait for the wind to die down before checking the bimini clearance. Just curious about the attachment of the boom to the mast, if you know those mechanics.

jrowan

Mar 5, 2011
O'Day 35 Severn River, Mobjack Bay, Va.