Big Thanks to MaineSail and lots of engine questions

Nov 18, 2010
Catalina 310 Hingham, MA
A little background, my wife and I bought a Catalina 310 in December moving up from a C&C 24. We had an outboard on the C&C and I came to know that engine well. Did all my own maintenance and feel this is important on any boat because if something goes wrong when you are out there you are on your own.

So now I have my first diesel engine and I am starting to get to know this engine. I am a real rookie at this so I am sure some of my questions will make you roll your eyes at how stupid they are.

Thank you for all of the content you have put up on your website and the forums. Without that I would not have had the confidence to start on any of the engine work. When you write your book, I will be in line to buy one of the first copies.

So to my endless list of questions. I went to the boat yesterday and spent some quality time with the engine. Some of my questions will be in the realm of "can this wait until next year?" We bought the boat on the hard about an hour and a half from our house. Our home marina is only about 15 minutes from the house. So I intended to put off things as much as possible for this year and do them next year. It is not laziness, just logistics.

General Engine

The first photo is the general condition of the engine. With the exception of the hose from the rw pump to the heat exchanger, the condition seems pretty good. There are a lot of little rust spots that I intend to sand and paint to match the rest of the engine.

1) What should I use to clean the engine? I was thinking a mild degreaser like diluted simple green.

2) Is there anything else you noticed from the photo that needs to be addressed?

Heat Exchanger