Best Pocket Cruiser 23ft or under?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 15, 2009
Balboa 26 Louisville
Hello Experts,

I am going to purchase a pocket cruiser at 23ft or under.
My budget is $10,000 after all the haggling is over.
I am a novice at sailboats but an expert with the Local River and powerboats.
I have been sailing as a kid on sunfish, hobbiecat, and an old O’day.
I am going to take my wife and 3yr old girl out on it.
On occasion I am going to take a few in-laws.
I will probably overnight once or twice a year.
The wind is light here in Louisville’s Ohio River valley.

Geez...this forum is huge. I am having a hard time finding suggestions.
What I’m looking for are suggestions of brands and models that I can research.

I am the typical non-sailor that is currently looking at a 1994 Catalina 22 to 10K.
I know that this is a fine boat for my needs but I really like nice things.
I prefer to research and purchase faster, easier, better built boats…and maybe pay more OR go a little older to get it.

I would really like more cabin than a true racer and I need comfortable seats for the older family members. I’m not sure if I will ever actually race but I know I don’t want a dog.
Single handing the boat is a major factor.

So please…give me some short opinions on the Catalina 22, Beneteau 235, or similar sailboat that is around 1985 model or newer. I really need suggestions of brands and models that I can research.

• 23ft or under
• Trailerable with retractable or wing keel
• Around $10,000 or less
• Able to single-hand
• Overnight accommodations
• Comfortable
• Not a dog
• Good build quality
• Seat four adults in cockpit

Thank You Very Much.
Your time and comments are GREATLY appreciated!

Apr 10, 2009
2 26 West Point Lake Ga
How about a Com-Pac 23,I think you could find one in your range and is a better value than the catalina 22 im my opinion,the bennie 235 is a fine boat but more on the performance side rather than a cruiser.
Nathan

Oct 10, 2006