Beam reach, fastest point of sail?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kito

Sep 13, 2012
1979 Hunter Cherubini 30 Clemmons
What am I doing wrong? Friday we took our C22 out on a local lake, beautiful day with winds 10-15 mph. We seen our fastest speed yet sailing close hauled into a 15 mph breeze. Had the rails buried and was a blast. When sailing on beam reaches the speed was cut in half with the same wind speed. Just wondering what I am doing wrong. Boom was about centered with vang tight and headsail pulled tight. I am sure the sails are the originals (1984). Is this a sign of the sails being blown out?. Will older sails sail better heading more into the wind than from the beam? I am still a newbie on sloop rigged sailboats and trying to figure this out.

May 1, 2011
Pearson 37 Lusby MD
You need to learn to read your tell-tails if you have them. If you're on a beam reach, the boom should be around 45 degrees (or more) from centerline. The tell-tails on the main should all be flying off the luff of the sail. Similarly, the jib should be eased until all the tell-tails are flying parallel to the deck.

Jan 13, 2013
Catalina 22 Lake Champlain
"Centering" the boom seems odd on any "reach."

I urge you to try another sail setting. Neither the jib or main should be "tight" on a reach.

Before even messing with a vang, open the sails up until the leading edge(s) start to lose shape or flutters (luffs"). Then, mess with the vang to see if speed goes up.

The amount of boat tilt - misleads many into thinking sail trim is best when tilting is maxed out. On a "reach," that notion is completely false - as you just found out Friday ;)

kito

Sep 13, 2012