Battery switch question

Apr 13, 2015
Catalina 309 Port Charlotte
Hey 309 owners. Newbie here. Quick bio, I grew up as a sailor, owned powerboats the last 5 years, now returning to sailing several years before retirement. Also, pretty experienced with electrics and outboards, no diesel exp (yet).

Just now buying a 309-2007. Surveyed very well, looks to be very well maintained. Closing and picking it up next week.

Current owner has all manuals, but I don't have hands on them yet. Noticed during sailing trials, he puts battery switch on both. Says he doesn't know which setting is house vs engine.

-What's SOP for setting the switch during usage?

-Does alternator charge both batts? (Even if switch isn't in both?)

From running power boats with a dual starting battery, we never put it on both, except, when changing from 1 to 2, or in an emergency if low on power.

Thanks for any help, Dave S - Tamps, fl

Sep 15, 2009
S2 9.2a Fairhope Al
congratulations on your new boat ......there is a lot of info on your questions on this site ...i would suggest you go to mainsails ...compass marine site and do a lot of reading on this subject ...there is no good answer at this time about your new boat electrical system ...because we don't know how it is set up ...but after you read all the info maine has shared you will understand why ...and then you will be able to trace your systems armed with the knowledge of what to look for and what you need ...and then you will be able to ask specific questions relating to your boat ...another one that will be good for answers here will be Stu Jackson ....good luck

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
Hi & welcome.

These should get you started:

OEM 1-2-B Switch Wiring History http://c34.org/bbs/index.php/topic,4949.msg30101.html#msg30101

Basic Battery Wiring Diagrams This is a very good basic primer for boat system wiring: http://c34.org/bbs/index.php/topic,6604.0.html

They come from this topic: