Battery banks

Feb 14, 2007
Ranger33 25 NewOrleans
How big is your battery bank 1, 2,3 could you use one more ? (that's what she said!) LOL
Im new to solar power and would like to do my restoration on my Hunter30 Philter entirely on solar power. 1. just to see if I can 2. To get use to solar power and 3. Once im living on Philter I should have a good Idea on the capability and limitations of solar power.

Nov 26, 2012
Catalina 250 Bodega Bay CA
I suggest STARTING with 200w of solar and 200 ampere hours of battery bank for New Orleans area and 30' boat. Chief

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
The biggie is refrigeration if living aboard. Without knowing the power consumption of the fridge, gonna be hard to comment.. If ya have a good efficient fridge, Chief's numbers are someplace to start.. If no fridge, probably half that if everything is LED, cabin and nav lights, and the fans are really efficient. No air conditioning is really possible..

Feb 14, 2007
Ranger33 25 NewOrleans
A/C is a luxury here in Louisiana and I figured it would be to much for solar power. the boat will be in my back yard for the restoration and If I need A/C I did pick up on one of those hatch units for $150 Ill just have to plug a extention cord into the house for the A/C .

Nov 26, 2012
Catalina 250 Bodega Bay CA
I use 160w solar & 200ah bank with reefer, but my reefer is 2.7 sq ft and only averages .7a dc use. I use a 15" TV as well and it works fine. If I use my new AC 6k window model in forward hatch (has remote control) I use house or pier power. Would take my 2k Honda gen if going to Gulf area. In Bodega Bay Ca. we don't need an AC in summer. Chief

Feb 14, 2007
Ranger33 25 NewOrleans
Benny you are rite I just know the A/C wouldn't work unless I lined the hull with batteries and had solar panels all over the deck and cock pit.

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI