Bad gas

Status
Not open for further replies.

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
Well, I certainly had heard a lot of stories about bad gas but this is the first time I got burned. I had to bring my dinghy down to the club, as after Labor Day you have to rely on your own transportation. I threw a quick coat of bottom paint on then decided I better test my reliable and neglected 4hp Suzuki outboard. Four hours later it was running like a top.

Yes I did say four hours! When it wouldn't start I drained about a cup of water out of the built in 1 gallon fuel tank. I couldn't believe there was so much water in it and I'm a chemist. Furthermore, there was flock in the fuel, like something had grown in it. After a number of rinses I still was getting cloudiness when I shook the tank, so I finally pulled it off to shake fuel around in it and dump it out. It still wouldn't start. Finally after we had the carb on and off a number of times we cleared a bunch of crap out of the bowl but eventually figured out that the float was stuck in place with corrosion (motor is used in salt water and is never flushed :redface: ). After we got it cleaned up we also replaced a connection on the kill switch that looked corroded.

Runs like a top now! Then of course we hit a ridiculous amount of traffic so we never did end up going sailing yesterday. We did go for a brief sail this morning though. We were busting to get the outboard running because the plan was to sail, then to watch the Pats/Giants game, crash on the boat overnight, grab breakfast at a nearby diner and come home.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
After we got it cleaned up we also replaced a connection on the kill switch that looked corroded.

Yup, that happened to me on our 1990 9.9 Evinrude. Didn't have the carb problems though.

ETHANOL.

One nasty word.