Back Stay Adjuster

Status
Not open for further replies.
May 17, 2004
Other Catalina 30 Tucson, AZ
There is a thread going on one of the catalina sites regarding the above subject. A lister named Chris is considering adding a backstay adjuster. My 2 cents is that a backstay adjuster on a production boat with a telephone pole mast causes unintended problems. Some skippers are not sure why they are ordering a backstay adjustment in the first place. What they are trying to do is bend the mast but what they are actually doing in RACKING it back. The boat things someone picked up the mast and moved it aft thus inducing weather helm.

On the other hand, I've had personal discussions with some skippers who swear by it. I think the reason they do swear by it is because they induce just a little rake - like less than 3 degrees, which is a lot on a 45' mast.

Anyway, I personally don't bother with the backstay adjuster so I'm no expert on its use. I obviously know what it does or is suppose to do. I kept the Garhauer adjuster on the boat because it looked trick!!

Can any of you listers out there who have found the backstay adjuster benificial help Chris out? How much rake do you apply and what results do you get?

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
On my masthead rig I don't use it to do anything but adjust forestay tension. It doesn't really bend the mast like it would on a fractional rig and I'm not looking for any rake there either. The mast movement to change forestay tension/sag is minimal, less than an inch, I'd say. I don't play with the backstay adjuster as much as I used to... just getting lazy........ or not seeing a big benefit in performance.... all I know is if the forestay is a bit wobbly, I tighten it up with the backstay then pretty much leave it alone for the rest of the sail.

Rick D

Jun 14, 2008
Hunter Legend 40.5 Shoreline Marina Long Beach CA
What Joe Said....