Anyone using a boat intruder alarm

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Michael

I had the unfortunate and unpleasant experience yesterday of getting a phone call telling me that someone had broken into my moored boat in the wee hours of the morning. Besides prying off the locks, they threw the mainsail, hatch boards, boom crutch, and various other items overboard. I haven't found much of it so far. Who knows what they were looking for, probably just a bunch of drunks or drugies! Apparently there was a big party in that area of the lake that evening. This got me thinking about putting in some sort of alarm that would sound and perhaps strobe if someone tries to break in again. I would think it wouldn't be too hard to put in some magnetic sensors, etc. Has anyone used a ready made system? Have you put together one yourself? I'd appreciate feedback about your experiences, either pro or con. Michael

M

mortyd

locks

as a lifetime manhattan resident i will tell you the cops say bad guys don't even see locks; locks only deter people afraid of damage, not thieves. once i saw a tv show where a car thief was asked if two identical cars were parked next to each other, one with a nationally advertised anti-theft system and one without which he would steal. his answer;'i wouldn't notice.'

K

Ken Hastie

Alarm system