Anti Corrosion Tape

Blitz

Jul 10, 2007
Seidelmann 34 Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Does anyone have a recommendation for the anti-corrosion tape that you would put between stainless steel fittings and aluminum mast? I will also be using Tef-gel since I've had great success with it.

Thanks

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Tef gel works. You could get a thin piece of HMWPE and cut to fit to form a gasket, however the the threads on SS screws will still be in contact with the aluminum.

Thin roll up cutting boards are HMWPE and are pretty cheap.

Jul 7, 2013
Catalina 34 856 hamilton
this was recommended on another msg board (or this one can't recall). i'm doing a full mast refit and am using it to backstop all the fittings. though this is my first time using it, so i have no first hand experience. my hope is that the tape will help slow down the eventual paint bubbles that form around the stainless plates and what not. i just repainted the whole thing and i'd rather not do it again for awhile.

Feb 14, 2014
Hunter 430 Waveland, MS
The corrosion rate on the mis-matched metals on your Anodized Aluminum mast and Stainless Steel is very very small.
Tef-Gel would do fine.
Jim...

PS: Any gasket will be cut as the screw turns, but if you feel better about that, do both.:biggrin:
PSS: I inspected some done by a new Deck Light mounting and old radar bracket. No corrosion seen. No Tef-Gel used.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
this was recommended on another msg board (or this one can't recall). i'm doing a full mast refit and am using it to backstop all the fittings. though this is my first time using it, so i have no first hand experience. my hope is that the tape will help slow down the eventual paint bubbles that form around the stainless plates and what not. i just repainted the whole thing and i'd rather not do it again for awhile.