Anchor handlng

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

George Kornreich

I'm a totol newbie when it comes to anchor technique. Our #1 anchor rode, all chain, is captive on the Simpson Lawrence windlass, with no place to go butdirectly down into the below decks aft chain locker, through a very small opening in the electric windlass base, and no way to watch and adjust the rode manually if it bunches up, etc. Anchor #2 and its rode are located off-windlass in the forward anchor locker of the H430. Soooo, need to know how a rope/chain combo or straght rope rode would feed into and lay into the locker.Does a wet rode behave itself nicely coming off the windlass, or would I have a tangled mess below? Also, how would you drop or retrieve the second anchor when number one is captive on the windlass, assuming you have this type of windlass setup (which seems to be one heck of a compromise)? Thanks

Sep 24, 1999
Hunter H46LE Sausalito
rode stuff