Anacortes to Victoria BC cruise planning tips

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 19, 2008
Macgregor 26S Moses Lake, WA
I would like to spend a week this summer sailing from Anacortes, through the San Juan Islands, to Victoria BC, and back. I would leave Anacortes on a Saturday morning and return to Anacortes the following Sunday. I would like to spend two days in Victoria. When would be the best time to go considering weather, crowds, and getting in the best whale watching? Where are the best whale watching areas? I have a Macgregor 26S with an 8hp outboard. While I have an anchor, I don't have experience or confidence to use it overnight yet and would perfer staying in marinas or at mooring buoys.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bob

Bob V

Mar 13, 2008
Catalina 42mkII Lagoon Point
Lots of correct answers to that question

The San Juans and Gulf Islands are my local cruising grounds and I have been exploring them since 1990 by kayak at first and now in my C42.

I am going to tailor my answer to your to comments about not anchoring and whale watching opportunity.

1. Make your first stop at one of the mooring buoys just south of Blind Island. It is a well protected spot just off the ferry route. Blind Island is a great place to explore and a short dinghy ride from the mooring buoys.

2. Spend the second night at Reid Harbor off Stuart Island. There are many mooring buoys, floating rafts and one dock connected to land. Usually room enough for everyone. It is also a great place to take day trips for whale watching along the west side of San Juan Island. You can head south out of Reid Harbor with the ebb current helping you along down to Lime Kiln Point which is probably the most likely place in the islands to see Orca whales and then when the current starts to flood turn around and have it take you back to Ried Harbor for the second night.