American Bald Eagle

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jack

I am no bird expert but.... I swear I saw an American Bald Eagle the other day, while this is not big news to those in Alaska, it was the first one I have seen in the southeast. The eagle was sitting/standing just back from a sandy beach on a small island in Tampa Bay, he was eating something, perhaps a small fish. He was a huge bird!!! Sorry, no pictures. I'm curious, are other people seeing this birds more often?? thanks, Jack

D

dr

osprey

I could be an eagle but also might be an osprey- there are a bunch of them in florida too. from a distance might look similar. but i'm no bird guy.

Jul 8, 2004
- - Pinedale, WY
Florida Eagles

Jack: Good chance that it was an American Bald Eagle. Florida maintained a population thru the bad years (the DDT egg shell plus other problems) and it also gets migrants from the north I think. I saw one over a lake near Clermont, Fl three weeks ago while visiting our son, and saw several in the Everglades way back in the 70's on a brief visit. You can find a lot about birds reported in your area and elsewhere thru www.birdingonthe.net/ and it can refer you to http://www.lists.ufl.edu/archives/floridabirds-l.html which gets you to lots of reports by Florida birders. Osprey are more more common and easy to distinguish-- smaller and white on breast and under wings, some black on head, dark beak, etc. Both occur in the summer at Fremont Lake in northwestern Wyoming where my C 22 "Sylvan" is toughing out the cold (- 31 on a nearby ridge a couple of weeks ago). Dick

Jun 8, 2004
Catalina 320 Dana Point
Even in S. California, there is a nesting site