Amateur Radio Installation

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sam

I'm a fairly new sailor and an amateur radio licensee. The Catalina 25 was built in 1984, and I have no knowledge regarding whether/how grounding of an installed HF radio and the related antenna can best be done. Would also like to read about others' experiences with HF equipment including various antennae. Recommendations appreciated.

R

Ron

A few suggestions

Any HF (e.g., SSB) system requires a very good ground as a counterpoise to a marine antenna system. From what I've seen, most people go for an insulated (isolated) back stay loaded through an antenna tuner. Not quite ideal for an omni propogation pattern, but a good compromise between RF efficiency and the mechanics of mounting. Few use HF whips. For antenna/ground installation hints, try the following: 1. Nigel Calder's book: "Boatowner's Mechanical & Electrical Manual", ISBN 0-07-009618-X. Around pg 230-244 he has a treatment on grounds & RF interference suppression. 2. The ARRL. They always had some excellent data & practical hints in their "Radio Amateur's Handbook" & other publications. 3. Scan the various nautical books stocked by West Marine, Defender, BoatUS, etc. A few treat this particular problem. 4. Talk to the HF/SSB equipment manufacturers. I'm sure they have recommendations regarding the proper installation of their marine HF equipment (doesn't have to be Ham equipment, either). Raymarine (formerly Raytheon Marine Division) sells marine HF gear, and has a pretty good website that often includes their equipment manuals on-line as well as email to their Tech Support people. Good luck, --Ron

S

Sam

Amateur Radio

Ron of Westford? As in next to Fairfax? Are you a Ham? Tks much for your resource suggestions? My next note is to ICOM, And, I'll hit Barnes and Nobel today or tomorrow.

R

Ron

ex-Ham