Adding shore power?

Feb 8, 2015
Hunter 260 N/A
Hi All-

I'm fairly new to sailboat ownership so forgive any "stupid" questions I may come up with. Most folks on this board seem truly interested in giving kind and honest advise.

I just purchased a 2000 Hunter 260 with an outboard Honda 9.9. As of now, it just has the DC system onboard. I'm thinking of having shore power added and am wondering if there are any reasons not to do so?

Also, a ball park of the cost would be helpful before I start making phone calls. For me this wouldn't (yet) be a DIY project.

Thanks.

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Shorepower is a good thing to have.. fans, battery charger, other stuff.. You are probably talking in the vicinity of $1000 . That seems high but labor is a big chunk of that ..

ALNims

Jul 31, 2014
Hunter 356 Huis Ten Bosch Marina, Sasebo, Japan
Hi All-

I'm fairly new to sailboat ownership so forgive any "stupid" questions I may come up with. Most folks on this board seem truly interested in giving kind and honest advise.

I just purchased a 2000 Hunter 260 with an outboard Honda 9.9. As of now, it just has the DC system onboard. I'm thinking of having shore power added and am wondering if there are any reasons not to do so?

Also, a ball park of the cost would be helpful before I start making phone calls. For me this wouldn't (yet) be a DIY project.

Thanks.
Defender should have everything you need for a shore power install. www.defender.com You might want to sketch up your ideas and then do a search there to get a materials quote. What do you intend to use the shore power for? Battery charging, AC, etc.? You will need to figure in those costs as well. I have added two files for a Hunter 27 that show some schematics and materials as possible ideas.
Andrew

Attachments

Feb 8, 2015
Hunter 260 N/A
Dr. Hoppy;