ABYC wire identification question?

Nov 6, 2020
Mariner 36 California
I'm getting close to finishing up my re-wiring project and want to start labeling and identifying every wire, making a diagram for future reference. I have decided to number the wires for identification and create a log/diagram with number definitions for the individual wires.

My question is, does ABYC have a standard that assigns a particular number for each wire depending on what it is used for?

I guess a follow-up question would be for what is the best way to label a wire with a number that is neat and durable? I have a basic label maker but the sticky label is only mediocre at adhering to the wire and spits out WAY more label than i need to wrap around a small wire, not to mention the giant font it prints.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
Bad Orca, I have been doing engineering design work for 50 years and boat wiring labeling for over 30.
My humble suggestion to you is to reconsider your plan to put numbers on the wires and have a separate document to look up what those numbers mean. Basically, I have asked myself over the years: why look in two places for one piece of information.
Engineering drawings used to place the labels right on what they referred to, or used arrows. Then some wise-acre bean-counter came up with the silly idea of numbering the parts and creating a separate table to say what the numbers meant. Know what those of us who wanted to figure out the diagram had to do and did? We took the information off the damned table and put it back on the drawing, where it belonged to begin with!:yikes::banghead:

Nov 6, 2020
Mariner 36 California
Bad Orca, I have been doing engineering design work for 50 years and boat wiring labeling for over 30.