25.5 bulkhead replacement

Nov 25, 2013
Hunter 25.5 Ruskin, FL
Hello everyone,

Both of the bulkheads on my '85 25.5 have some areas where water incursion has caused the wood to rot as well as at the bottom of the port side bulkhead next to the compression post. The block chainplate attachment and the area directly around it seems to be solid. I've read the older posts about replacing the bulkheads and I was wondering if this could be accomplished, one at a time, with the mast up. Can I loosen the shrouds on one side (one at a time) and attach them to the toe rail temporarily while I work on one bulkhead then repeat it on the other side? I'm new to sailboats and rigging but it seems like it should be doable if care is taken to secure the shrouds properly, and doing this in the slip would save a lot of money and aggravation.

Dec 29, 2010
Hunter 25.5 Point Venture, TX
Replacing the Bulkheads on a Hunter 25.5

I replaced both bulkheads and the cabin sole on my 1985 Hunter 25.5 ... but I did this while it was on the hard, with the mast down. Thus I have no direct experience replacing the bulkheads with the mast up. Regardless, in my opinion, if the compression post is in good shape (meaning that you do not have to replace it as well), then it should be possible to replace the bulkheads while the boat is in the water ... provided that you can do the work in a relatively protected anchorage/marina.