1978 Lancer 28' rigging ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tim

i just bought a 78 lancer 28. the mast is un-steped. and ther is absolutlly no rigging or hardware. "bummer". were can i find info on what length's of rigging's i need. and were, and how to run them ? i do luckly have the mast the boom and spredders. and im new to boats. this is my first. please help. im located in key west.

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
Rigging

When I got my L25 I was missing the lower shrouds. I tried to have some made up, but it is tough to measure and I bought the wrong size wire and toggles that fit into the mast. I planned to have them made up and then was going to cut them to length and attach them using sta-lock lower fittings. Long story short I have about $300 worth of oversize hardware (swaged on tees and 3/16 wire, if I recall...should have been 1/8...rigging on the 25 and 28 should be similar) I never ended up using. I did measure the wire with a cheap set of calipers, but still blew it, as the 1 x 19 is tough to measure. One of the particularly painful things to hear was that the swage on toggle ends are tough to come buy. If you can't find the exact type you will have to modify the slots in the mast. It may prove easier to surface mount some tangs for the lower if that proves the case. There is really no escaping having a competent rigger look at your boat and figure out what you need if there is no hope of getting the originals. In my case I tracked down the previous owner and it turned out he had the original lowers. See the link below. Torrensen in Key West has a 25% off sale and a free consult. Bob

T

Tim

re. rigging

Thank you.. i know so little about rigging that i know even really know what your talking about.. lol, but i understand. thanks

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
Your welcome