1970 O'Day Widgeon Restoration

Feb 3, 2020
O'Day Widgeon Pymatuning Sailing Club
Two years ago I took ownership of a 1974 (I believe) O'Day Widgeon. The boat was free but needed a lot of work to get it back into decent shape. I had been sailing my Sunfish for the last 10+ years but with now having 2 kids I thought the bigger boat would provide more comfort and stability. I will keep everyone posted as I restore and improve my little boat.
BEFORE
1580747132149.png
1580747187221.png

AFTER
1580747253812.png

Attachments

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
BDuchon, thanks for posting and welcome to our little nautical corner of the Web. You will find an amazing group of enthusiastic and helpful sailors here. There is little more that we like than following along as someone restores their boat.
You have a very pretty little boat and I just noticed the Widgeon sail graphic is the same as the O'Day Mariner except upside down.

I am eager to read about your progress and your sailing with you kids.

-Will (Dragonfly)

Jun 2, 2004
Oday Day Sailer Wareham, MA
Not a 1974, I think your 1970 estimate is more accurate. The version of the WIDGEON with the wooden seats was built from 1964-1970. The 1971-83 model had a molded fiberglass cockpit with a forward deck. 1984-2004 had an open layout, not forward deck, but molded in seats that extended from the stern to just aft of the mast with a forward platform area from there forward.