Jib sock

Oct 30, 2015
Oday Javelin Skaneateles
I am refreshing an old O'day Javelin. It has a jib furler (Harken) so the jib stays on the forestay when docked or moored between sailings - you don't use the jib halyard, the sail has a wire built into the luff , and the wire acts as a forestay, fastened to the roller at the stem. I think I should protect the jib from UV etc., especially as this is a replacement sail and is in very good condition. I have no experience with using a jib sock for this purpose - I have seen some stuff online and it looks like the most economical approach is a kit from sailrite, although they seem to require a bit more sewing skill than I have demonstrated in the past. I am just wondering what others have experienced with using a jib sock - any advice welcome.

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
My friend uses a jib sock on his CAL31. The jib/genoa is on a furler. He rolls it up then draws the sock up using his spinnaker halyard. As it goes up he zips the sock around the furled sail. When he gets it to the top he ties it off and it shields his sail.
Down is just the reverse operation, grab the sock pull it down, unzip as you go. Once you reach the top of the sock you disconnect the halyard and fold the sock up and store it with the rest of the sail covers.
The alternate is to have a sail cover sown onto the leech. Then when you furler the sail the sail cover is exposed the sail stays protected.

Apr 26, 2015
S2 26 Mid On Trailer
I'll be interested to read the comments on this question. I'm guessing you will have to list out the pros and cons and your style at the end of the day.

Cons as I see it: More time required to put things away, One more item/cover to have to stow, Installing an extra halyard if one is not free (not a problem for you). Possibly a little more flapping of the cover. I would probably make the Sailrite kit a snugger fit.