Do you flush TP?

Jun 2, 2014
Catalina 30 mkII - 1987 Alamitos Bay Marina, LB, CA
My personal preference is to do as i learned on charter boats... don't put anything but poop and pee in the toilet or if it clogs - you fix it. So, I've been bagging it.
But, I'm about to go on a 9 day trip with someone else who doesn't want to bag 9 days of TP. They are a boat TP flusher and believe that "marine" TP won't cause issues.
I still stand by my opinion, if it clogs - you fix it, but this time I'll be trapped with a clogged head for 9 days and don't want that either.
So, for my actual question... is the RV/Marine TP really really safe to flush on our boats? I'm concerned about the Y valve and the macerator pump out.

Dec 19, 2006
Hunter 36 Punta Gorda
I have been using the bag it on my boat and RV for a few years and do use the cheap Walmart
some times but don't know for sure because buy the super market brands lately and bag it .
Can't you have a bag and insist that they bag it and we brig a bunch of those super market bags
and mix in daily with regular garbage.
Nick

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
Marine and RV TP is designed to be flushed. It breaks down very quickly. Never had a clog, in the head, pumpout, macerator.
I don't know where this "bag it" idea came from, but I find it quite distasteful.

Mar 26, 2011
Corsair F-24 MK I Deale, MD
Practical Sailor has tested this a number of times. Scott single plies work great. I like the "Extra Cushiony," since it takes considerably less. However, if you want see for your self, place some plies in a bowl of water for a few minutes and then stir lightly. The singles plies fall apart to nothing, so clogging is impossible. There is no purpose in bagging.

Kleenex, on the other hand, can survive the laundry and thus must never go in the head. This is not obvious and must be explained to guests. If you see a TP clog, it is probably actually Kleenex. Don't keep it in the head compartment.

Rick D

Jun 14, 2008