1st Sailboat. 1983 Hunter 27

Jan 11, 2024
Hunter 27 Iron mountain marina
Just purchased this boat for cheap because the owner is moving out of state. It looks decent for what I paid but it’s definitely a project. The “bulkhead” or as I would call it the wooden wall that cover the toilet area has been removed and that does worry me. It doesn’t look like it could have had much to do with the integrity of the hull to me personally but I know nothing about the subject. I’m curious what you guys think on that. The guy says the 8hp Renault runs fine, he has an impeller for it that he never got around to putting in. Im wanting to do whatever tune up/maintenance on the motor I can to help ensure it’s in good shape for this summer. Im open to all suggestions there. And I have winter weather coming in quick and I’m not sure of what I should do winterizing wise. Really any advice about this boat is welcome. I have zero sailing experience, but a strong desire to learn.

dmax

Jul 29, 2018
O'Day 35 Buzzards Bay
Congrats on the new boat, sailing is a lifestyle. Pictures of the missing bulkhead would help people determine if it's structural or not. As far as winterizing, you definitely should get on that - the pressurized water system, the head and the engine's raw water cooling need to be completely drained (everything) or you need to add "potable" antif-freeze to them. There should be plenty of info on this site about that but ask any questions you have. I'm sure you realize what damage freezing water can do to your boat.

Last edited:
Jan 11, 2024