Loose stringer in bilge area

Jun 9, 2019
Catalina 25 Pepin, WI
I'm new to boats, so bear with me, but I'm also mechanically inclined and have been doing a lot of reading and research on the maintenance and survey of boats so I have some limited knowledge.

Looking at a used Catalina 25 (swing keel). 3rd owner with records, good people, and a very clean boat. I've given it a run through on my own with the help of Don Casey's sailboat maintenance book, and when looking in the bilge area I noticed a loose stringer that runs perpendicular to the length of the boat. The other stringers are glassed in and tight, but this stringer is bare wood and can be moved in all directions - it is only lightly bracketed in by what looks like fiberglass tabbing that extends about 1/2" vertically. It appears to be about a foot long 2x4-ish in size, give or take a few inches. It's not rotted, but it's very light weight like pine.

I'm wondering if it's something I should be concerned with? The bilge was dry except for a small pool of water from condensation (located in Wisconsin), and not wet in the location of the stringer.

Thanks in advance.

Sep 24, 2018
O'Day 25 Chicago
I would make sure the wood is encased in resin or fiberglass to keep it water resistant. If that's the case I'd go ahead and tab it back in. Pics would help to verify suggested repair.

There's a number of things you can do to reduce condensation from a small air vent to desiccant de-humidifiers (if no power is available). I'm sure there's a number of threads on the topic.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Generally, stringers or floors in that area serve 2 purposes, 1) to support the cabin sole and 2) keep the sides of the boat from collapsing inward. The second reason is the more important reason.