Yanmar 2GM20F rpms go down and no power

Oct 14, 2017
HUnter 306 Aruba
My yanmar 2Gm20f starts fine but when I give it more gas it goes to under 2000 rpm then starts heading back to zero. I get no power whatsoever from the engine, no overheating.

The engine does not give the same knocking sound as customary. When below I noticed that air was coming out of the air intake on the side. When I removed the air cover it showed that air pressure is coming out instead of air going in. I'm not an engine expert but believe this has to do with the valves or pistons.

Anyone else ever experienced this and if so what were the next steps?
Appreciate any help or input.

Saludos from Aruba

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
Any smoke, either in the exhaust or the air from the intake? Also, did this start suddenly our worsen over time? My first suspicion given the air coming out the intake is lost compression and blow-by, but that's just a guess.

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Couple of things to check.. Make sure the valve clearances are set correctly and make sure your exhaust elbow is clear..

Jan 30, 2012
Nor'Sea 27 "Kiwanda" Portland/ Anacortes
I am with Koudie. Could be a hung up (open) intake valve - hence air draws in and air goes right back out. Check them for sure.

I would still start with ruling out a mixing elbow obstruction and examine whether there is some other exhaust path obstruction. If the motor cannot exhaust it cannot intake and you will have some blow back - probably.

Charles

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
Ok it sounds like the engine may be running on a single cylinder. You may have a stuck intake valve on the cylinder that is not firing and it just pumping air in and out to the intake manifold. Engine may not have the same knocking sound as the valve tappet may not have any clearance.

Last edited:

NYSail

Jan 6, 2006
Beneteau 423 Mt. Sinai, NY
What’s coming out of exhaust pipe at rear??