Hunter 31 Newbie Introduction

Manly

Jan 3, 2018
Hunter 31 St. Petersburg
Hello everyone,

I would like to introduce myself as a new Hunter owner! My wife and I purchased a H31 last August (2017) and moved aboard after a week of ownership. The boat was in rough-ish condition, though mostly intact, just needing lots of things fixed. I have some sailing experience from smaller boats on inland lakes but my wife is new to this. We are living at a marina now, fixing her up but also working.

We didn't get the boat surveyed because, among other reasons, I could see well enough pretty much everything needed TLC. However, the previous owner did take us out on it sailing and the engine fired up too, so I knew it was in at least good enough condition to get out of the harbor. Our purchase price was $7,900, which may have been high, I don't know, it seemed reasonable at the time in comparison to other boats we had looked at for not much less but in significantly worse condition. Our entire boat search consisted of 1 week of looking because our landlord needed his house back on short notice and instead of moving to an apartment or another house we decided it would be fun to go live on a boat, but only made that decision 2 weeks before we had to be out of the house. That gave us 1 week to quick find a boat, and 1 week to quick get it up to snuff good enough to live on. Of course we were both working too, so didn't have much time indeed. We also didn't have tons of cash, but wanted to buy the boat outright instead of financing it. This Hunter fit the bill.

After the purchase I went around and made a list of about 100 projects it needed. We've worked our way through about a 3rd of the list so far.