Stainless Shackles on Galvanized Anchor Chain

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 2, 2006
Jboat J24 commack
I don't tend to believe a SS shackle is going to take out a whole chain but i would sure NOT waste the money on one ;)

Common wisdom is that SS bolts and Aluminum are a bad combo BUT try and buy and outboard motor built other wise except some big Yamaha's that use chrome plated SS bolts to cut down on the cant take it apart problem

NOW and SS swivel is a whole other thing because the parts do trap saltwater in a narrow crevice which would allow it to happen pretty fast

As i repair SS mixers for a living i get to see all kinds of bizarre things happen , on older mixers it was common to use a 316 SS pin to hold a 316 SS blade section in place.

I have seen a LOT of 316 SS pins lose out on that deal and modern mixers are 100% welded and polished for both sanitary and to avoid giving a foothold to corrosion

Jun 5, 2004
Hunter 36 Newburyport, MA
Re: Stainless Shackles - try Titanium

While pure Ti metal would look no better from its position in the electrochemical activation table, it is very hard to find - as it quickly forms an impervious oxide when exposed to air or water.

For that reason, I substituted Titanium shackles for SS with my 5/16 G40 chain.

http://www.titan-marine-hardware.com/titanium-shackles.htm

They are not cheap, however, but far stronger than SS.

Fair winds,
Al
s/v Persephone

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME
Photos..

You guys should know I would have a photo...;)

2 1/2 years use as a mooring pendant with a stainless shackle. No corrosion on the stainless what so ever and the galvanizing is the only thing really suffering on the shackle.

BUT!

This set up is less than 12" below the surface where there is oxygen for the stainless to not suffer from crevice corrosion.