How to chart a course across Lake Ontario

Aug 8, 2024
Siren Siren 17 Lake Ontario
Hello,

I am a new sailor and want to understand how to chart a course. I understand that it is rather complex so I want to leave it simple for now. This is more hypothetical as I am not experienced enough to sail that far. I don't own any nautical charts so I have been using an app called OpenSeaMap. Let's assume that I want to sail from Port Credit to Niagra-on-the-lake (which I have included below). It is a distance of 27.66 nautical miles and it says I would need to sail on a true course of 127.46 degrees. However, I want to use a magnetic compass. The magnetic deviation is -10.1W. I understand that if the deviation is west, it is added to the true course, so I would sail on a course of 137.47 degrees on the compass.

Can someone tell me if that is even remotely correct? I have not accounted for other factors such as the tide.

Thank you!

Attachments

Apr 25, 2024
Fuji 32 Bellingham
You've got the right idea. I will say that, if you intend to sail by magnetic compass, you can round to the nearest degree. Fractions of degrees are pretty meaningless since you can't sail that accurately anyway.

So, your heading would be 137 degrees magnetic. But, that is only a small part of the picture.

You can ignore tidal currents. Where I live, these can readily exceed 5 kts (or considerably more). But, where you live, you can ignore them. Wind-driven currents and seiches are not negligible. Folks with experience on the Great Lakes can better advise you on the best way to predict and compensate for those. (I have no experience on the Great Lakes.)