Mooring and bilge pump

May 16, 2024
o'Day 23 Muskegon, MI
I have a new to me o'Day 23. I am totally new to both sailboats and mooring, both of which I will be starting in the next week or two.

My question...if I am going to leave the boat on a mooring ball for a week (or more) at a time and not be close to the boat should I install an automatic bilge pump? I know that an automatic bilge pump would be limited by the battery life if the boat were to begin to take on water. There do not appear to be any through hulls below the water line. While the boat has been sitting on the trailer it not had water show up in the bilge after rain. There is no evidence that there has been water in the bilge. The previous owner did not leave the boat in the water full time.

Thank you for any advice offered.

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
Bilge pumps don’t typically have a discharge thruhull below the water line. install an auto pump if for no other reason than it will prolong the time it takes to flood the boat in the event of a big problem. That will also extend the time within which others might notice a problem such as a continuous flow from the above the WL pump discharge.

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
I think adding an automatic bilge pump is important. Especially on a boat you are et going to checking on for a while.

No thru-hulls below the waterline is good (less things to leak), but not the only way water can get in the boat…so a bilge pump is a good idea.

Greg

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
This sounds like a good challenge for a Solar charge system to keep the battery capable of running the bilge pump while you are away.

May 16, 2024
o'Day 23 Muskegon, MI