Why NOT Take a Hunter Sailboat on an Ocean Crossing

Feb 3, 2021
West Wight Potter 19 Lloydminster
I am very new to sailing and am very seriously considering buying a Hunter sailboat. For my MOST LIKELY foreseeable future needs, Hunter seems to be my best fit. However, should I decide to venture down the west coast of the USA and ... who knows ... maybe I would eventually attempt a sail to Hawaii, why would Hunter not be a good boat to do this? I always here/read where Hunters are terrible boats but I personally love what I know about them and I very seldom talk to a Hunter owner that hates their boat. What am I missing?

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
In a ‘former life’, I sailed across the Pacific to NZ stopping at numerous places where we saw every imaginable type/brand/size/condition of boat. Places many of those trying to sound authoritative about boats never heard of.
The cliché is valid - to paraphrase, ‘it’s the crew, not the brand name which determines the outcome.’

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Boats are designed for specific purposes, essentially they are tools for us to use for enjoyment and recreation, or a place to live, or a vehicle to travel on. They are also designed and built for specific sailing conditions. European built boats are built to specific classifications based on the conditions they are expected to encounter in normal use. While this article is geared to motorboats, you will get an idea about the classifications.

More important than the rating or the manufacturer is the condition of the boat and the sailor's skill. A poorly maintained high quality boat is less safe than a well maintained average boat. Another major criteria is the equipment, is the boat's gear up to the task of extended ocean sailing? And, where offshore will the boat be sailed, a high latitude boat is built differently from an average production sailboat.