Leaking head faucet, and cant get toilet to pressurize to flush

Aug 26, 2021
Catalina C-30 Bayport Yachting center
Hello,
I am new to my 1985 catalina tall rig.. when i fill my forward tank, my head faucet continues to drip, i dont see a leak at the pump, it pressurizes now and then, for now i have shut off the pressure. But want to fix this.

As well, when i switch the throughhull valve to use the head, in the wet position it doesnt fill the bowl, then tough to pump out using the dry side..

Any suggestions?

Feb 26, 2009
Oday 30 Anchor Yacht Club, Bristol PA
Replace the faucet!

I don't think the bowl supposed to fill when you open the sea valve. You get water when you pump or turn on the pump to use the head. The head usually takes water from the sea when you use a pump unless you have an electric head it may still use a water from the sea.
Some newer boats and some people have changed the plumbing to use the fresh water tank supply to feed the head.

Aug 26, 2021
Replace the faucet!

I don't think the bowl supposed to fill when you open the sea valve. You get water when you pump or turn on the pump to use the head. The head usually takes water from the sea when you use a pump unless you have an electric head it may still use a water from the sea.
Some newer boats and some people have changed the plumbing to use the fresh water tank supply to feed the head.
That simple eh, just replace the faucet..
As far as the head, so i take in water with the throughhull open, then i move the valve to expell to the holding tank, and sounds like the pump has a hard time pushing anything through, just gurgles.. works fine to just push through the throughhull but i hate that..

Jul 6, 2013
Catalina 30TR, Atomic 4 2480 Milwaukee
You don’t say what the brand your head is, but you may need to rebuild the pump. Kits are available. Not the most pleasant job, but not difficult.

Aug 26, 2021