Sailing to Catalina Island?

Mar 25, 2021
Pacific Seacraft Flicka 20 119 Marina del Rey
I'm a newbie sailor who just finished the ASA 101, but I would like to make my first voyage. I own a 1985 Pacific Seacraft Flicka 20 which, I have heard, would be fine for sailing far even across oceans. My top priority is safety, so if it is very dangerous, I can wait until I get more experience. My boat is docked in Marina del Rey. I want some adventure, so should I sail to the island, or should I just sail to an easier place, maybe King Harbor. My boat has a Garmin chartplotter, VHF with a 2' antenna (17 nautical mile range), and the other safety stuff. I've heard it's about an 8-hour sail there and about the same back.

Am I ready? What's the best season to go? Will a storm come out of nowhere? Any tips?

Last edited:
May 25, 2012
john alden caravelle 42 sturgeon bay, wis
nice boat. what fun. definitely go. leave at dusk, arrive the island in the morning. weather? i'm a great lakes sailor.

we want pictures. we like pictures ;)

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
Weather windows are much easier to research than they were in the past. Here is one great site

There are many more and if you start a thread on sites and/or apps to have, you will get a lot of good advice. I have the NOAA radar app on my phone and at least for the first 5 miles, you will have cell reception. I also have Navonics. It gives me really good chart data and since you really only need to see the botom contours when you are near shore, the phone seems to be a workable solution for me.

On the topic of safety: If I were planning this trip in a new-2-me boat, I'd want to do a few things first
  1. Practice your reefing techniques and get all of the bugs worked out.