Water Tank Mystery

May 3, 2016
Hunter 28.5 Grapevine Lake, Texas
First, let me say that I am a beginner at all this, and I'm not particularly handy at these types of things but trying to learn. We recently purchased a 1985 Hunter 28.5 and have been really happy with it so far. We are novices but trying to learn the ins and outs of sailboat ownership. I apologize ahead for the length of this post and perhaps not using all the correct terminology. That being said, here's the issue we had over the weekend:
Not knowing how long the water in the fresh water tank had been sitting there (previous owner not available for questions), we decided to purify the system following the excellent recommissioning information found on this forum.
Added the bleach, pressurized the system, let the water run in the galley and head sinks until we smelled the odor of bleach, shut them off and let sit overnight. Returning to the boat the next morning, we opened the faucets on both sinks (after opening the seacock) and allowed the tank to empty. Refilled the tank, repeated. Refilled the tank again, and began draining. This is where the problem began.
As we began adding water to the tank, it very quickly began overflowing out the opening where the fresh water is added. Sorry, not sure what this is called.....but where you add fresh water. For our boat, it's in the anchor locker. We knew we had not added enough water to refill our 17-gallon tank. We turned on the water pump, opened both faucets and it drained for just a minute and then stopped.
So, the situation is this: The water tank is acting as if it's full, but when we turn on the faucets, no water is coming out. We can hear the water pump kick in when we turn on the pump. I will also add that the system had been working for us until this incident.
Sorry for the long question, but any guidance you can provide would be appreciated.
Signed,
Two new, very happy, but very dry, Hunter owners.

MitchM

Jan 20, 2005