Battery Switches

Sep 6, 2020
Catalina 315 74 Barrington, RI
My boat has two house batteries wired in parallel, plus a starter battery. For the house needs, I can run off either or both house batteries. For the starter need, I can run off the starter battery, or off the house batteries, or off all three batteries.

I'll mostly be day sailing, and on shore power at night (thus charging all three batteries). I'll do some overnights at anchor, but maybe only 10 nights a season.

I had been thinking to run the house needs off the house batteries, and the starter off the starter battery. But the manufacturer advised always running the house needs AND the starter needs off the house batteries only, and never using the starter battery unless, say I'm anchoring out and draw down the house batteries. This seems odd to me, but I'm a newbie. Thoughts would be appreciated.

ebsail

Nov 28, 2010
O day 25 Nyack. New York
when I had the same set up as you, I also used the 2 house batteries for everything. Only used the starter battery twice iin 10 years. Both times when guests managed to run down house batteries.

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
If I had your set up, I would run everything off the 2 battery house bank. And keep the starter battery as reserve power in case something kills your house bank.

There is no problem switching over to the starter battery to check it, but your house bank should be able to start your motor.

I would also make sure your charging sources are set up correctly to charge your house bank as the priority.

I have 2 group 27 FLA batteries as separate banks. When I overnight on the hook, I always use one battery or the other, for the same reason...keeping something in reserve to start the engine. your setup is better because you have a bigger bank. Now, I just need to find room to add a starter battery...

Have fun and Happy New Year,

Greg

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace