Mainsail Questions.

Jul 21, 2020
Catalina 22 Yorktown, VA
Good evening!

I just purchased a '80 Catalina 22. I got all the rigging up and everything seems to be working correctly except the mainsail. The luff side of the sail is completely tight when extended, but the leech side doesn't seem to be. There is a good bit of extra fabric at the bottom that hangs out from the boom. Tightening the Vang doesn't seem to help as it pulls mostly on the leech side, and I tightened the outhaul as far as I could. ll try to get some pictures but I will have to resize them to upload.

I am very new to sailing so I guess my question is how tight does the bottom of the sail need to be (I know you can add slack if you need while sailing)?

Thanks!

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
Welcome to our awesome and very sailorly forum. Always good to greet a new sailor. You have a nice boat there and now a great support crew to help you out. The Cat 22 is one of the most owned boats on SBO, so you are sure to get great advice.

My guess, what you are experiencing is a shrunken bolt rope. There are methods for relaxing the shrinkage, but my advice is to look at the whole sail critically and then decide it's too old and replace it. Check out the stitching, is it breaking when you flex it? Is the Dacron (sail cloth) cracking or too limp? It should be flexible and have some stiffness without being brittle. Are the eyelets rusting and straining the cloth?

An old sail takes on a poor shape and makes sailing to windward very difficult. It also can contribute to excessive heeling. Because an old, "blown out" sail has a deeper camber, the lifting force moves more aft than on a newer sail. This not only makes it slower, but changes the direction of the driving vector forces. You are forced to haul the boom in tighter for a steeper angle of attack to the wind, to keep from luffing, and thus more heeling force than driving force is generated.