Questions (many) re: Setting up a private mooring

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
I need some fact based info on something I have no knowledge about.

I'm moving to Charleston and this past weekend I was checking out the local sailing scene. I came upon this public boat launch near Folly Beach (bottom right corner). All of those stationary dots in the water are sailboats on mooring balls. I hung out at the dock for a while and see a guy with a stiletto catamaran untie from one of the moorings and bring it over to the floating dock ... so, I run out and offer a to take a line as a pretext to pump him for some local knowledge. Here is what he tells me ... (and it seems strange to me).
1593484511090.png

He said he dropped his own mooring anchor... a 400lb diamond anchor, set up his mooring ball and has been using this as his personal launch for the past 9 years. RENT FREE!!!! He did not ask permission nor did he register his mooring with the USCG. He also claims that all of the other boats in this canal are doing the same.

So... I did a little digging and found a few threads on the Cruising World forum where they make similar claims for boats moored in the Ashley River. I also saw those boats when I was in Charleston so I know they exist but don't know if they are private moorings.

First Question. Can this be right! Do local authorities really "look the other way" on private unregistered mooring balls?

I read this very good article on the basics of mooring

And it gave me a few more things to think about.

2) Anyone here tie up their H26 or similarly sized trailer sailor to a mooring ball?
3) Can you clip onto the pendant using the bow eye or should you come up to the cleat on the bow? I'm thinking the cleat is more secure but I worry about chafe since the H26 does not have chocks. On the other hand, if the bow eye is strong enough, that makes sense to me but I assume the bow eye was only intended for the trailer winch.