Macgregor 26X Advice

Oct 10, 2019
San Juan SJ 21 Calgary
Hello,

I've been sailing a San Juan 21 for a few years, and now looking to upgrade to something bigger for my wife and I. My obsessive research has gravitated me towards two boats....a Mac 26X and Catalina MKII 22. The 26X is the winner right now, and I there are couple of reasonably priced units in my area (with smaller motors). Why? We really like the look, the simplicity of trailering and rigging, and the spacious cabin area. So here's the dilemma; my primary sailing area is a reservoir that doesn't allow motors....this is where the boat will be moored/parked, and I sail 2-3 times per week there as I live very close. However, we'd like to take it to bigger lakes occasionally. This sounds like a goofy question...but would the 26X be overkill for simply sailing around without a motor attached most of the time? Or would I be better off looking for a nice Catalina 22? Decisions, decisions. As a Mac owner, feel free to throw in your $.02. And for what it's worth, I've checked out the 26S and 26D, they are nice but we like the interior of the X much better. Plus, I just love the look of the X despite criticism from "purists". Thank you!

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
IMHO, you do not want the 26X if you don't need the "power sailor" feature. It won't sail as well the C22

Oct 10, 2019
San Juan SJ 21 Calgary
Thanks for your reply. Yes, that’s something I’ve been wondering about, I don’t want to be “that guy”. Plus, it's occurred to me that it may be a PITA every time I want to put the motor on the transom.

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
What about the 26X interior do you like? A 26 would definitely be roomier than a 22. Have you looked at the Hunter 26 or 260? Both travel well over land.

Oct 10, 2019
San Juan SJ 21 Calgary
What about the 26X interior do you like? A 26 would definitely be roomier than a 22. Have you looked at the Hunter 26 or 260? Both travel well over land.