Folding-feathering prop for First 36s7

Jan 22, 2008
Beneteau 36s7 Sea Cliff, NY NY
I am considering putting a folding prop on my 1997 First 36s7. Has anyone done this? Did it improve performance noticeably? Is there one that is significantly better than others? I am just beginning the process and don't know where to start.

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
I am considering putting a folding prop on my 1997 First 36s7. Has anyone done this? Did it improve performance noticeably? Is there one that is significantly better than others? I am just beginning the process and don't know where to start.
I'm betting that every single Beneteau First boat built since 2000 has come from the factory with a flexofold 2 or 3 blade folder. I have two boats with them, and sailed on dozens. They perform great under sail and power, require ZERO maintenance, and always open. Recommended.

Last edited:
May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
Third'ed. We went from a fixed 3 blade to Flexofold 3 blade and picked up at least half a knot at low wind speeds, maybe close to a full knot. Also we picked up some speed in high winds, when the fixed prop's turbulence caused rudder stall.

Here's a comparison of our boatspeed with the fixed (orange dots) and FoF (blue dots). The solid lines are the best fit trendlines.
Screenshot_20180509-201214.png

Jan 4, 2010
Farr 30 San Francisco
They have a new version with a carbon/composite hub so lower weight. But the ultimate is ultimoo (out of Argentina ) a full composite folder. Price isn't bad. I am hoping someone else takes the plunge and reports back!

Feb 11, 2017
Everyone always compares performance under sail. Can anyone share their experiences under motor with a 3-blade fixed versus 3-blade flexofold?

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
Everyone always compares performance under sail. Can anyone share their experiences under motor with a 3-blade fixed versus 3-blade flexofold?