Mast Ladder - Concept of Design

Feb 17, 2006
Lancer 27PS MCB Camp Pendleton KF6BL
I'm not an engineer. I have no train to drive. But I love trying to figure out how to do something differently.

So I saw this video of a guy building a mast ladder using wire rope and rubber hose. Then I got a thought of using PVC pipe but it would roll under my feet. Not good.

Then I had THIS idea of using PVC T's to hold the pipe. Here is what it looks like.

DSCF4736a.jpg

This is just a first attempt to see if it is feasible. The pattern is left side wire rope goes thru upper left T, across pipe and exits out right side bottom of T. Right side wire rope enter at the top of the T, across the pipe, exits bottom of left T. And so forth and so on.

Right now there are no stoppers on the wire rope so if I put weight on the rung the wire rope gets pulled thru. So each cross of the cable in the pipe will have one of the compression clamps like at the top of the rope.

Wire rope is rated at 1700 lbs breaking strength but I am sure the safe working load is lower, but still strong to support a person.

Thoughts?

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
@Brian D interesting idea. A few quick thoughts.

Use dynema instead of wire rope, less expensive, lighter, and folds up neater than SS wire.

What about using reducing tees, that would eliminate some slop as the wire/rope enters the step?

Or end caps on each step with holes for the wire/rope?

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
It looks like it would do the job. Definitely cap the line from pulling through. Not only did you want the steps to stay, but if a PCV rung broke and your leg went through the opening, you don't want it to cinch tight.

- Will (Dragonfly)

Feb 17, 2006
Very interesting on the use of Dyneema rope. Very strong but no one can pinpoint a safe working load due to the characteristics of the rope.