Do I wax the deck?

Jun 23, 2017
NorthStar 22 Catalina 22 (under restoration) Lake Red Rock
This may be a stupid question but I am a newbie that spent hours cleaning my C22 to get her white again. I notice that every grubby foot leaves marks behind. Do you wax the deck? I do on my 16 and it helps the cleanliness. It does make it a bit slippy but we don't walk around on the deck of the 16 much.

Aug 31, 2017
Catalina Catalina 22 Tampa
I'm going to have to advise against waxing the non skid. You can wax the smooth gel coat but waxing the non skid may deem it unsafe. This I know as I used to detail boats as a living.

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
I've always wondered why we pay so much attention to keeping the topsides waxed - to protect the Gel Coat from oxidation, and shrug our shoulders with regard to the non-skid. The non-skid probably gets more direct UV than the topsides. If someone argues that the non-skid, by virtue of it's uneven surface presents less surface to the UV rays I'd be willing to listen. Otherwise I can't see much of a difference.
I don't wax non-skid because I think it is generally accepted to be a danger to footing. Then again, since I've never tried it, I really don't know.

Mar 26, 2011
Corsair F-24 MK I Deale, MD
I'm going to have to advise against waxing the non skid. You can wax the smooth gel coat but waxing the non skid may deem it unsafe. This I know as I used to detail boats as a living.
And now if you step on the non-textured gelcoat it's twice as slick? I'm sorry, but that makes no sense on the face of it. It's too easy to put a foot off the non-skid on a bouncing boat.

Apearance is not worth one bit of safety. Ever.

Apr 11, 2017
Catalina C22 Solomon's Island, MD
I just compound buffed my 87' to remove the oxidation, and got the gelcoat back in the best shape I could. I then used Polycoat for the whole boat, both sides and topside decks, instead of wax.