going to buy an Irwin 38

Aug 12, 2017
Irwin 38 Gruissan
Hi everybody, and please to meet you, this is my first post on this forum so I'm going to try to introduce myself....
I am a 55 years old french women how has sailed the Caribbean and Indian Ocean as a professional sailor for tree years.... about twenty years ago... today I want to spend the rest of my life sailing the world singlehanded under different latitudes.... and here is a lovely Irwin 38 in the south of France that want me to buy it....
Any opinions or advices on this sailboat for my program of navigation ?

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Bienvenue, Welcome to the group.. I have no experience with the boat, I just wanted to say hello ..

Jan 12, 2016
Hunter 410 Ladysmith, BC
Salut Maxine,

There is a lot of discussion on Irwins. This one http://www.sailnet.com/forums/irwin/32712-irwin-bluewater-capable.html you may find interesting before you decide.

They have really nice layouts and interiors. As far as strength and suitability for round the world travel I'm not sure if it would be ideal. I have no experience sailing them, only have walked through several when we were boat shopping in the past. Several brokers I know and respect considered them a really nice coastal cruiser but not the best boat for crossing oceans.

Being in France, you should have a lot of good French, British, and German made boats in your region to consider first. Finding a boat that is a little newer with EC Offshore A certification may be a better place to spend your hard earned money. The first year of any used boat ownership usually involves a certain degree of refitting. Having a boat that has good support locally will likely help this stage go smoother than buying an American boat from a manufacturer no longer in business. (I say this as a Canadian who bought an American made boat, it has been very easy for me to get replacement parts and local knowledge to solve things that have come up.)