Learning about anchor, gear & locker

Jun 23, 2015
Hunter H34 Deltaville
As I need to learn just about everything about my 1983 H34 I thought I'd start at the bow.
The boat came with what I believe is the original 10kg plow/Bruce anchor, 60' of chain & 100" of line. A cruiser from the UK mentioned just by eyeballing the anchor that it looked a little small. Research online leads me to believe it is either okay or a little small so for now I'll live with it. However I don't believe as in the first picture this is an acceptable way to tie the end of the anchor line to the boat. My plan would be to put an eye in the end of the line and replace the quick pin with a bolt through the eye.
I need to fit a new eye shown in the second pic. I have weaved lines back into themselves before but never had so much riding on the line holding. Then there is the chain. so of it looks a bit worse for the wear but again I have no experience.
How bad can the rope and chain get before it should be replaced?
Last but, well it is least, I figure the two indentations molded in the locker up high are for a Danforth anchor but what is the recess in the bottom in the shape of a shovel with a bar across.

As always any thoughts are well appreciated.

Attachments

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
The tip of the Bruce fits under the bar and the fast pin goes through the hole in the shank. Nice and secure. I have been happy with the Bruce. I don't anchor out a lot, but it sets and holds in the clay/mud/sand here.

Jun 23, 2015
Hunter H34 Deltaville
Thanks

kloudie, I'll have to check that out when I bring the anchor back.

Jun 23, 2015
Hunter H34 Deltaville
thanks for the picture kloudie

I hadn't thought of stowing the anchor before as I have the cleat in the anchor locker which I wrapped the chain around. That's good to know.

Jan 22, 2008
Hunter 34 Alameda CA