Most common environmentally friendly bottom paints?

Jul 10, 2011
Lancer 27PS 27 Powersailer Ohio - Lake Erie
I've decided to take the plunge and redo the bottom of my Lancer. Yep! sandblasting the bottom and 29 years of vc17 bottom paint will be gone. Was planning on redoing the bottom with Interlux 2000e barrier coating then bottom paint. The North Coast states, at least Ohio anyway, has yet to pass legislation banning leaching paints such as vc17. However, I feel it's just a matter of time so I intend to redo the bottom in a manner that will likely meet future environmental laws. I'm just beginning my research of options for an environmentally friendly bottom and was wondering what are the most common approaches to redoing bottoms in California, or other states, that have banned the leaching paints?

Nov 26, 2012
Catalina 250 Bodega Bay CA
I am not aware that California has banned ablative paints! Can someone advise? Chief

Feb 17, 2006
Lancer 27PS MCB Camp Pendleton KF6BL
I do not believe that there are any Ca. State regulations banning a particular type of anti-fouling paint. However, there are local regulations that seem to be popping up all over the southern part of the state. Some manufactures/retailers seem to not allow certain paints to be shipped to Ca.

Sorry that this did not answer your question. I don't know what paints can and cannot be used. Maybe a marine catalog retail paint section will tell what can and what cannot be shipped to Ca.

Jul 10, 2011
You know. Now that you mention it Chief, and to Brian's comment as well, I think it was an article in Boat US that cited studies done by the San Diego Port Authority and maybe in Washington State. I'll dig around tonight, and see if I can find it. So! Which ablatives are you using?

Jul 10, 2011
Geez! I love the www. FOUND the article! It's in the BoatUS 2012, February/Mar edition and available on their website. Article is titled, Is Copper Bottom Paint Sinking?